free website stats program Do pre-1994 mufflers fit to 2008 FLHT? | Harley Davidson Forums

Do pre-1994 mufflers fit to 2008 FLHT?

jamolo

Hi,

I have a cheap set of 1993 FLHT mufflers available. I thought to try them (just for interest) how they would sound in my 2008 FLHT and maybe do some modifications to them.The part numbers are 65538-85, 65539-85.

They are the older "flange" type of mufflers (flange in the inlet of the mufflers), is it possible to fit them into my bike? Any other comments about the suitability of the mufflers?

Thanks,
Jamo

I'm no mechanic but will take a shot based on what I've learned from this forum. I don't think they would work. They might fit, but I'd be afraid of damage they may do to the engine. The newer engines have backpressure and exhaust scavanging issues that the older motors didn't. Like I said, I'm no expert so don't do anything based on my advise. Wait a while and I'm sure someone with much more know how will respond. (Hoople, Bodeen, CAPITALJack to name a few).

By the way, welcome to the Forum. Stick around and you will definately learn.

I'm no mechanic but will take a shot based on what I've learned from this forum. I don't think they would work. They might fit, but I'd be afraid of damage they may do to the engine. The newer engines have backpressure and exhaust scavanging issues that the older motors didn't. Like I said, I'm no expert so don't do anything based on my advise. Wait a while and I'm sure someone with much more know how will respond. (Hoople, Bodeen, CAPITALJack to name a few).

By the way, welcome to the Forum. Stick around and you will definately learn.

Bingo Mavagrand....:s You may pick a prize from the wall.....:bigsmiley12:

A quick look on Ebay shows touring mufflers fitment as '95 up. The difference is probably just the location of the mounting bolts under the saddlebags, but could be significant.