free website stats program Dead battery syndrome | Harley Davidson Forums

Dead battery syndrome

hdking

This is a post I had made for another site, I am posting here so that I may get an answer.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I hope this infromation will help someone diagnose my problem for me. If more information is needed, I will supply it. This problem is on my 99 rk carb., model

I have charged the battery with a trickle charger. The reading from the battery is putting out the more then 12 volts required.

I have rechecked battery some 4 hours later, still holding that same charge, still only clicking.

If it were a car and I had a battery putting out the required volts, enought to start car, and it clicked then it would be the selinoid.

What am I up against? Why won't the battery showing a full charge start the bike, and only click? I am not a mechanic but it seems I am missing something. Can you clarify for me, the mechanics of my situation.

I believe that I could jump the bike and get it started, like I had done before, but do not know if this would help or exaserbate the problem. Maybe by jumping the bike and running it, and then by truning off the bike and then see if it would restart, my better enable me to understand the problem, I do not know. What do you think of my thinking on this? If I just need a new battery, that would be great. I just do not want to buy a new battery and have the same problem. Seeing as how the new battery would not put out anymore volts, then the one I have is showing that it is putttin out. I do not meant to bother you to death, I am just trying to understand the process, so in that way I will have learned something, and thus enabling me to maybe help others.

Thank you for your expertise in this area. It is great to be able to learn and not cost an arm and a leg doing it.