free website stats program Clutch cable leaking fluid??? | Harley Davidson Forums

Clutch cable leaking fluid???

shady1324

Hello again guys! Quick question and please forgive me if there is an obvious answer because I am still learning the mechanics of my new scoot! I have notice when i park my bike, a small puddle (2-3inch spot) of some sort of fluid directly under the clutch cable at the front of bike! I tracked it down to the rubber boot halfway down the clutch cable. i pushed back the boot and a bunch of that fluid was bound up inside that boot. The boot of course covers up the adjusters for the clutch. I didnt think my bike had a hydrolic clutch. Its a 98 Softail Fatboy. Where could this fluid be coming from? I thought that where the front brake cable crossed of the clutch cable, possible the front brake cable was a source of a brake fluid leak an somehow making its way down the clutch cable and collecting in the rubber boot! But the resevoir is full and no signs of leaking front brake fluid? This is wierd to me. Im gonna have to take it to a bike shop and let them smoke it over? Has anyone ever experienced anything like this? Something bad is gonna happen soon if i dont fix it because the amount of fluid that i am loosing, its coming from somewhere and its gotta be bad that it loosing that much! Again, thanks for any input that anyone may have! Im gonna take a closer look this weekend and see if i can diagnose the problem! Take care and Ride Hard!

Shady1324!

What fluid would be my first question,brake fluid is almost clear or bluish dependant upon the fluid with no real viscosity,trans fluid is thick and if you do the finger test it will spread about 1'' between thumb and forefinger,engine and primary about 1/2''