free website stats program checking flywheel end play | Harley Davidson Forums

checking flywheel end play

roadking01

Contributor
Hello All,

I've desided to rebuild the bottom end on my 01 88ci TC motor. after reading up on the service manual to see what I'm getting my self into and figure out what tools I might need. I've gotton to the assembly section where it shows how to check the flywheel end play. The manual recommends the use of a modified sprocket shaft from an EVO engine in a bench vise to check the end play. is this really the only/best way to do this? does someone make an actual tool to do this?
As always any feedback will be greatly appreciated.

As an amateur mechanic, I can tell you that there is nothing that will make you feel better than taking something apart, fixing what ever needs fixing, and then putting it together and having it run! That being said, I learned a long time ago, while I have no problem putting together a small block, I leave the machining to the professionals. That's not to say you can't do it and do it well, it's just that this is what they do for a living, every day , every week. Thay have the tools, the know how , the jigs and fixtures and the "secrets" that guarantee you a great job. Bottom line, while you could do this yourself, unless you're really experienced and really good at this, you might consider shipping out the bottom end to a pro shop. If you want to wrench the rest of the motor, have at it. As always, just my opinion.....