free website stats program Changing My Own Oil on 1340 Fatboy | Harley Davidson Forums

Changing My Own Oil on 1340 Fatboy

Ron1052

I am new to Harleys and own a 1997 Fatboy. I would like to change my own oil. Is the drain for the oil tank the only place I need to drain the oil from? Is there a Drain plug on the motor that I also need to drain? Sorry if I sound dumb.

Thanks,
Ron:dknow

Thank You very much for the quick answer. I guess then it will still take the 3 quarts of oil once I drain the oil tank and change the filter.
Thanks Again,
ron

Thank You very much for the quick answer. I guess then it will still take the 3 quarts of oil once I drain the oil tank and change the filter.
Thanks Again,
ron

Do not put 3 quarts in...you will likely overfill the oil tank. That spec is if the engine was being filled for the 1st time from bone dry (you will never be able to drain the oil out of your Harley like that). You will use for the new oil filter about 1/2 cup (4-6oz.) to wet the entire element (takes approx. 3 minutes of soak time) then quickly spin it on firmly hand tight. You will then put the bike on the jiffy stand and put only 2 quarts in. Run the engine for 2 minutes, while checking for leaks. Shut engine down, wait two minutes then wipe & recheck dip stick level, it should be at the lower mark only (your oil is still fairly cold). Once the engine is run for a while with the oil hot, it will expand and be 1/2 way between the low & full marks. :D

You should run the bike with the engine oil "full". This takes a bit of getting used to with Harleys since the correct amount of oil when full is with the oil at operating temperature. In this condition, the oil should be at the oil hot full mark on the dip stick with the bike on the jiffy stand. Double check that with your Owner's Manual or your HD Factory Service Manual.