free website stats program Bike went BOOM! (and then my pants caught on fire...) | Harley Davidson Forums

Bike went BOOM! (and then my pants caught on fire...)

I've been fighting an intermittent exhaust rattle for about six months, and over the last month, I've noticed a gradual increase in backfiring. So, today, I'm on the way home from work, had to roll it on (bleep bleep cagers...) and a really nice blue flame shot out from under the seat. Nice black char mark on my pants. I was going to post here and ask what would cause it, then i found a beautiful rusted/rotted crack in the splitter off the rear head. Now that I know what caused the problem, can anyone tell me:
What would cause the problem/rusting
How much of a pain is it going to be to back the exhaust bolts out, given that they are prob rusted too
If anyone has a header pipe they would be willing to sell for a reasonable price, because they have it laying around after replacing thiers with some fancy aftermarket piece.
Much obliged. Pic attached.

Attachments

• IMG-20120906-00136.jpg
    IMG-20120906-00136.jpg
    38.4 KB · Views: 249
Last edited by a moderator:
I've been fighting an intermittent exhaust rattle for about six months, and over the last month, I've noticed a gradual increase in backfiring. So, today, I'm on the way home from work, had to roll it on (bleep bleep cagers...) and a really nice blue flame shot out from under the seat. Nice black char mark on my pants. I was going to post here and ask what would cause it, then i found a beautiful rusted/rotted crack in the splitter off the rear head. Now that I know what caused the problem, can anyone tell me:
What would cause the problem/rusting
How much of a pain is it going to be to back the exhaust bolts out, given that they are prob rusted too
If anyone has a header pipe they would be willing to sell for a reasonable price, because they have it laying around after replacing thiers with some fancy aftermarket piece.
Much obliged. Pic attached.