free website stats program Backfire Issues | Harley Davidson Forums

Backfire Issues

cars5585

I have a 2000 Hugger 883. I bought it used 5 years ago with only 1000 miles at the time. I now have 3500 miles on it. It has sceaming eagle exhuast and carb kit that was installed before I bought the bike. The bike has always backfired since I have had it but it still ran strong with plenty of power. In the past month however the back firing has gotten worse and it will die randomly at any engine speed even going 60 on the highway. It seems to be worse the once the engine is hot. When it dies I have a hard time getting it started and when it finnally does start it will either back fire or blow a flame out of the exhaust. Then is could run fine for hours or it might die again in 10 seconds. I love riding this motorcycle but having a bike that dies on the highway and busy places leaving me stranded is not safe. I am not an expert but I have some mechanical aptitude and my intuition is telling me that it is a problem with the carb. Is this the correct path to start on? Does anyone have any solutions to what may be causing my problem?

When it backfires, Does it do it out the exhaust every time? If so, it sounds like its running rich. Whats your fuel mileage like? I would hesitate to guess that its probably the "kit" that was put in the carb. The "kits" usually end up causing more trouble than good. What jets are in it? I would start with removing the bowl on the carb and seeing what jets are in it and what the "kit" consisted of. Report back, lots of help here.

Welcome to the BEST ON THE NET.

Bodeen