free website stats program Advice needed | Harley Davidson Forums

Advice needed

Rick-e

Hey all,

I'm getting ready to pop for a 95 FLSTN with about 25K mi. I've owned other bikes the last being a 71 Guzzi. I have NO experience with H-D's other than listening to a buddy complain about his AMF sporty back in the day.

What maintenance items should I be looking for in a 15 year old bike with 20something thousand miles? I'm pretty sure it's been well cared for and it had some performance mods done at about 11k mi, shaved heads, polished ports, and a few other goodies that escape me.

any advice appreciated.

With any mods, it's important to know if they were done correctly and the bike runs well with no problems. Some people do performance work on motors and have problems with them like pinging after the mods are done due to a higher compression ratio and thus the reason for selling in some cases because they have created a problem motor. Best to find something that hasn't been worked over and enjoy it.

JMO.

The base gaskets at the bottom of the cylinders where they join on to the case was a problem in the EVO motors.

Thanks Glider,
Assuming for a moment that the mods are not a problem, what are some other issues I should look for? What is the lifespan of the drive belt, primary chain/belt, clutch, etc. ?

I've known the seller for quite a few years and a mutual friend who knows the bike well has suggested that it might be a good bike for me. I'm just trying to do my homework here.

Thanks Glider,
Assuming for a moment that the mods are not a problem, what are some other issues I should look for? What is the lifespan of the drive belt, primary chain/belt, clutch, etc. ?

I've known the seller for quite a few years and a mutual friend who knows the bike well has suggested that it might be a good bike for me. I'm just trying to do my homework here.