free website stats program 88B or 96B upgrade to Screaming Eagle II/III | Harley Davidson Forums

88B or 96B upgrade to Screaming Eagle II/III

Monolith

If I am going to install a Screaming Eagle II or III does it matter if I start with an 88B or a 96B engine? Won't they both end up pretty much the same?

I am a newbie, so your response helps :)

If you install a Screaming Eagle Stage III on a 88b you end up with the same motor roughly that is now default, the 96B?

-Monolith

I am a newbie, so your response helps :)

If you install a Screaming Eagle Stage III on a 88b you end up with the same motor roughly that is now default, the 96B?

-Monolith

Yes and no. If you start with 88" you end up with 95" configured with 3.875" bore x 4.00" stroke. The 96" engine is configured with a 3.750" bore x 4.375" stroke. Two ways to arrive at a similar displacement with slightly different performance characterisitics.

this is soething im also looking into. Whats everyones opinions on if its worth the money or not?

Not sure if what is worth the money? If you are comparing the cost of upgrading a TC88 to 95" to the cost of purchasing a TC96; there is no comparison. I would never suggest going the SE route for the upgrade but for about $2500, you can put together a very strong, well mannered and depandable 95" that will smoke any Stage I TC96 you come across and will run with the CV 110s. You just need to know what components work well to get you there but it's not that hard to do. The TCs love to spin and don't need a six speed, unless you are a touring guy and log many highway miles every year. If folks are honest about their use of the six speed, they don't spend much time in that gear.

I confess, I am biased; partial to the earlier TC models. If I had an early model that I was happy with and just wanted more performance, I would upgrade rather than buy new. But, like Smitty, my program might not be for everyone.