free website stats program 2017 FXSB starting issues | Harley Davidson Forums

2017 FXSB starting issues

Hey all,

I'm new here, the bike is new to me, I'm am electrician by trade so I think I'm ok with a multimeter.

Anyhow, I'll explain to you my experiences with this bike. The guy I bought it off didn't keep it on a charger, so I figured the battery was cactus but he said it was good.

I rode it for a handful of less than ten minute rides to get the roadworthy organised, presumably the mechanic did to. Then I got it back and between starting it just for the hell of it and a half dozen very short (less than 2km) trips it conked out after filling up fuel at the servo.

I thought that was probably fair enough. I jump started it with my jump pack, went around the block a few times and left it idling for a good 5 odd minutes before putting it away.

Maybe a week or two later I took it out for a ride to my mum's for mother's Day (Sunday just passed). Stopped on the way there twice for fuel, though the trip back was continuous and takes a bit over an hour so I think it should have had a decent charge that day.

Come today I took it for a quick spin ten minutes down the road to pick up some dinner, tried to start her to leave and no joy.. had to get the Mrs to bring the jump pack out. Thought that was odd and that the battery must be buggered after all, hoping the alternator is 100% though 99% confident that it is.

Rode the ten odd minutes home, popped the seat straight off still running. It was sitting at 14v at idle (used an analogue meter), that was a relief. Turned it off, put the battery tester on it and it put out 449 amps... which I didn't expect.