free website stats program 2011 flhx 103 | Harley Davidson Forums

2011 flhx 103

Hello everyone, My name is Shane and I am new to the forum and baggers.. Was a shovel man, but turned 40 not too long ago and stepped into the best bike I have ever had the pleasure to ride... FLHX... I am also new to twin cam and EFI.. With that being said, I am curious if any one can help me out.. I want to do exhaust, of course, but I am told that I have to de a " stage 1 " upgrade which includes headers, slip ons, dyno tuning, and breather which comes to a grand total of around 2500.00. can anyone tell me if this is normal or is my dealer thinking I am some noob that will fall for what ever the dealer tells me?
Thank you for your time and if I could get pointed in the right direction I would greatly appreciate it.. Thank you, Shane

If installation of mufflers with a baffle size of 1.75 inch or smaller nothing more is needed. Though a fuel controller such as a TFI from Dobeck will definitely wake up bike and is easily adjusted for later modifications.

thank you sir... Are there any exhaust you would recommend for this application? and before I ask about the TFI I will go do some reading on it.. Thanks again

I am assuming that the only way to get true flow is to replace the header pipes to get rid of the cat! So, if I did header, exhaust, heavy breather, and the TFI or Vance and Hines Fuel pack, it is basically doing the same thing as dealer, just trimmin a mountain of fat off??

Deciding what you are really trying to achieve as a end result would be the first step. With the 103 you are already ahead of the pack. Remember that with the exhaust and heavy breather you will be adding a noise factor that to some is very enjoyable while riding. So taking time and research will help in not making a mistake in deciding.. Best of luck.