free website stats program 2008 FXSTC Softail Won't Start! | Harley Davidson Forums

2008 FXSTC Softail Won't Start!

Leo D

Ok.. Let me start out with this..

Hello everyone! New to the site and forum. I have been riding for many years and I live in Albuquerque, New Mexico. My newest ride is a 2008 FXSTC Softail Custom that I have had since brand new. All I have ever had to do to it other than the accessories and upgrades I have done since I bought it was replace the battery and the tires. Of course the oils have been changed 4 times including the break in oil change. Synthetic only since that first change. Now. As of this past November 11, 2019 I have owned the bike for 11 years. However. Due to my disability issues I don't get to ride her near as much as I would like. To this point.. My two tone red HD FXSTC has less than 4,000 actual miles on it!

I replaced the tires because the New Mexico sun LOVES to eat Dunlop tires. They had plenty of tread but they also had plenty of cracks and clear sunburn on the areas the covers did not cover. The battery.. Well that's a gimme. I have had to replace it 3 times during the past 11 years because they are not meant to sit for very long periods of time even if they do have a trickle charger on them. That and most are only good for up to 2, maybe 3 years and only warranted for one.

Last year I put a new battery in her and since then she has run great. Started every time without any issues but of course I was getting out to ride more than I had been just to make sure everything kept working.

Here is what has been tearing up my days and ruining my riding time with the warmer weather of spring!