free website stats program 2006 Street Bob vs. All the following Years | Harley Davidson Forums

2006 Street Bob vs. All the following Years

Kansasjase

I'm still learning as much as I possibly can about the Street Bob as I'm convinced this is MY bike. I don't mind that the 2006 has a stock 88 engine instead of the 96 as all the following models do... hover I have noticed that the 2006 gear ratio is much lower than the later models. Is the 2006 Street Bob tranny gutless compared the the others or is it something I'm not likely to notice?

Hey there,

I can only say that the engine volume being smaller is actually an advantage over the later years: the 96" engines have the tendancy to overheat quicker when not enough air flow is available (e.g. moving slow). This can theoretically shorten the life span of the engine on later models (EFI only since the idle engine speed has to be kept higher rpm level.)

I have no proof of the following but I expect the ratios were derived from the increased low down power performance on the 96 model.

Take care

I have an '06 (I got that instead of getting a new '07 or '08) and the changes are mostly subtle through 07, 08 and '09 with '09 being the biggest cosmetic change. The gear ratio and engine size as you pointed out is the most I could find.

One thing you will notice, which I have more of an issue with is that quite a few of the upgrade parts I have looked at are not compatible with the '06 model (take a browse through the catalog, figure out what you want to do and make sure you can get the parts you want). One issue I ran into was the rear sprocket or sprocket cover, could not change it when I changed the rear wheel, which bugged me but still looked ok, I guess.

Hey there,