free website stats program 1200 Nightster - Quick Questions! (I hope!) | Harley Davidson Forums

1200 Nightster - Quick Questions! (I hope!)

nastipunk

Hi all. Great site and forum. Being a newbie I am loving all the info.

Just a couple of quick questions. I am hoping to buy a 1200 Nightster in the next month or two. Primarily it's purely for solo riding, but my partner has always liked to get on the back and go on runs and travels with me from time to time.

So my 2 questions are:

1. Can you get a pillion seat for it (and are the pillion pegs already there or would you have to get them too?)

2. I'm thinking of travelling round Europe for a few months on the new bike, would you say the Nightster would be a copeable ride (for me) over the journeys?

Many thanks all. Sorry if the questions sound a little dumb. I'm a sports bike rider (soon to be 'ex'), so all the Harley stuff is new to me! :)

Andy

If you're looking to do some touring, you're going to want to upgrade the shocks (rear at the very least) and get a better seat. I don't know how tall you are but for longer rides, stretching out your legs will be more comfortable than mid controls.

I personally went with Progressive 440's for the rear and did the front suspension as well but many people get the 412's and are very happy with them. Progressive is one of the most popular aftermarket suspension options available. They generally have two version of each model. Heavy Duty or normal if you're not putting too much weight on the bike with two people and luggage or whatever.

Another thing about going longer distances with the bike.....you're gonna need a new seat. I went with the Mustang Vintage for me and added the Mustang Vintage Wide for my gf. She isn't big by any means but I wanted her to be as comfortable as possible and trust me, that sucker is a couch. If you really want the back passenger to be comfortable, consider getting a sissy bar as well.