free website stats program '09 FLHP Losing Power | Harley Davidson Forums

'09 FLHP Losing Power

Oscar

09 Road King, 41000 miles. Starts strong, runs fine, but as I ride the motor feels as if its starving for fuel when I call for power. Especially at highway speeds, if I'm running 80 in 6th gear and slow down to 70, it feels as if I am lacking torque to get back to 80, however it can be felt on city streets as well. When I first start the bike and head out it is strong and seems to lose power gradually, like a loss of fuel pressure. My fuel economy has also dropped from about 34 to about 30 mpg since the problem got noticeable.

I bought the bike 4 months ago and have put 7000 miles on it, and the loss of power seems to be getting worse since I started riding it. It had been suggested by a mechanic when I bought the bike that there may be a pin hole and loss of fuel pressure in the lines in the tank. I opened the tank and removed the top plate, replaced the fuel filter and inspected the lines but saw no damage or places where lines would rub. I attempted to run the pump and check the lines for leaks but it appeared as if the regulator was spraying fuel and I couldn't make out any leaks.

It has electronic throttle, V&H Fuelpak, stage 1 air cleaner and true duals. It was throwing codes for running rich in both cylinders, I called V&H for lower values and since then it has thrown no codes.

I changed the plugs, and a Blackstone Labs oil analysis done last week shows no out of range metals, leading me to believe the rings are not blown, though I would probably need compression test to confirm that, and since I am not burning excessive oil or smoking I'm thinking I can rule that out, particularly with the relatively low miles on the motor.

If anybody's got any suggestions, I'm not sure what direction to go next to figure this out...

Does the fuel pump stop pumping after turning on the ignition and waiting a moment?